Occupational thoughts

Covering life on the home front.

Another generic cycling holiday

leave a comment »

I haven’t posted for a while, that’s because I’m cycling in France. The family dragged me along and I couldn’t really refuse. I would be okay with this but for a few things, here the post deteriorates into a slight rant:

The routes weren’t planned in advance so we frequently get lost, the map we have does not have a consistent scale and directions from locals are usually misleading. Due to the bad planning we cycle long distances of between 60 and 80 kilometers to reach hostels.

We didn’t sleep on the night before the first day as our only rest was curling up on the cold wooden floor of  the ferry from Ingland. We cycled off the ferry at 4 in the morning and didn’t get any food until 8.

The parents refuse to spend money on or transport food. This leads to a precarious food situation which, means I eat as much as I can whenever and wherever the opportunity presents itself.

The parents claim to want to go sightseeing but after 8 hours on the road (including an hour and a half of rests in between), we’re too tired or don’t have enough time to do much. The roads all look the same.

Christine insists on taking many  many photos of me which I refuse because it’s pretentious so Peter held me in a mock hug while saying ‘quick takeh picture!’. I squirmed out of the way, and when they look back at the photos of me on this holiday they’ll just see me being tackled by Peter.

At times my dad can be a stubborn old idiot.

I’ll be on scout camp next week, so don’t expect many more updates for a while. I have three days free after camp in which I can do some Halo machinima, the Xbox should be returned from the repair centre by then.

Written by Pierre

July 30, 2009 at 17:19

Posted in life

Leave a Reply

