Occupational thoughts

Covering life on the home front.

leave a comment »

A complaint made on the DrunkTank podcast was that people are willing to show support for something, but they often have a very short reach of influence. It was a very long while ago, during the ‘Green Revolution’ taking place in Iran. It was bolstered on by people who would wear green a green tie to work to show their support, or change their facebook profile picture to something green (actually Andriy did this before the Iranian elections and it was only to show his support for Libya). But the point was that people wanted to show support for international movements in the most convenient and conspicuous ways possible. Once protesters become martyrs and blood runs on the streets the controlled dissent quickly falls silent.

I myself played my part in this kind of political manifestation. When I went to the right-to-work conference I signed a petition to free some detained African cleaners who were set to be deported. Of course I think this kind of stuff is outrageous and I’m totally opposed to it. With my email address down, they sent me 5 messages. After that I joined their facebook group and in the meantime have been sent 10 messages on the facebook mail system.

In order to help their cause, they suggest writing to my MP or going to a protest with them outside the Home Office. I’ve done none of these. I even could have signed a second petition but it required me to give my email address so I didn’t bother (there was apparently an option to sign anonymously but I didn’t find it).

I’m not complaining about the protesters, they’re doing a brilliant job… I’m just noting that sometimes people’s support for a cause has quite a low limit.

Written by Pierre

July 19, 2009 at 12:13

Posted in politick

Leave a Reply

