Occupational thoughts

Covering life on the home front.

bicycles

with 3 comments

Yesterday there was an art exhibition in the trap-grounds. Peter told me it was in burgess field (a nature park). So off I went. When I got there I followed a person to where I thought a group of artists were gathering and asked what was going on. They were just a group of students in the field doing student-y things. Discouraged by this news, I tied my camera to my belt and cycled round a bit.

 

 

And I recovered my old bike in town. Whoever stole it had left it unlocked on the side-street near the Oxford playhouse. Peter drove me there and I suppose I counter-stole it. From what I can tell, whoever stole it was very short as the seat had been taken all the way down. They also messed up the gears, made the handlebars all stiff and buckled the back wheel. I had to strain to get it back home. For now I’m going to get rid of the back wheel (the brake, the wheel, the mudguard and the chain) to turn it into a fixed-wheel bike.

Written by Pierre

April 26, 2009 at 07:55

Posted in life

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As those are JPEGs I could have compressed them anyway, but I choose not to because the loss of quality isn’t worth it. I suppose you should be thankful I wasn’t shooting in .tiff format. Then they’d be huge.

    Still, I’ll take image compression into account next time I put up big photos like these.

    Pierre

    May 2, 2009 at 20:41

  2. WOW! Lucky about the bike! It seems most improbable.

    Anonymous

    May 2, 2009 at 17:35

  3. I think you should be informed of the wonderful image compressor in the lovely piece of software I am pretty sure you use called The GNU Image Manipulation Program (GIMP). Seriously, 1.2 megabytes per image is almost always excessive online – just plain unnecessary.

    Anonymous

    May 2, 2009 at 17:32


Leave a Reply

