Occupational thoughts

Covering life on the home front.

Moar stats

with 5 comments

Something very intersting has happened last week. On tuesday I put up a status on Facebook complaining about the lack of visitors to my blog. Then, in the comments, I linked it. That tuesday, my views jumped from a steady average of 3 per day for the past 2 weeks to 15. In one day. Wednesday got 11 views. Yesterday was 55 views. That comes close to beating my previous score of 62 which came about when this blog was linked on a major blog-harvesting site (alphainventions).

However, this interest is sustained. Perhaps over a week before everyone gets bored of reading my ramblings, but it leads to a greater overall amount of views. And secondly, the views I get now are people who know me. People who’ve physically seen me in person. In fact, at school, I’ve been getting a few of them who came up to me and said stuff like ‘hey dood, your blog’s funny’.

I now realise that before this, I was in part complying with the basic laws of John Gabriel’s internet dickwad theory. I had virtual anonymity, that meant that I could say basically anything I wanted, however controversial, and it would lead to pageviews, from people I didn’t know. It breeds arrogance. Perhaps Garry Newman will realize this too, with time. 

The rules have changed such that this blog is no longer an internet secret. It’s a weird feeling that stuff I write here will be read by people I know but I’ll get over it.

Written by Pierre

April 3, 2009 at 16:52

Posted in life

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve now put a link on the sidebar to my RSS feed.
    It’s considered bad internet etiquette to constantly harass people to subscribe to something, my link is appropriately subtle, but there if anyone wants it.

    Pierre

    April 5, 2009 at 16:18

  2. Thanks Kambez!

    Pierre

    April 5, 2009 at 16:10

  3. I added an RSS feed for this site to Christines outlook. But there was no link on your blog page to make that easy. In the source for the pages is the following

    From that I was able to guess that the feed was available at https://claagnut.wordpress.com/feed/ but you should have a button in the margin to make this easy for people to add the rss feed.

    Peter

    April 4, 2009 at 20:20

  4. I think this comes under the heading of Metablogging. Somewhat looked down upon see references:

    http://haacked.com/archive/2005/03/13/Blogging-About-Blogging-AboutBlogging.aspx

    http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000297.html from Jeff Atwood who I read everyday.

    Peter

    April 4, 2009 at 20:01

  5. hi pierre,
    this is a very interesting blog!!

    kambez

    April 3, 2009 at 21:54


Leave a Reply

